I haven’t written for the blog in over a year – last entry was actually August 7, 2016. I stopped mostly because it seemed to be very self-centered and I recognize that what I’m up to is not really that important. And, as much as I like me – why would anyone want to read what I write.

I realized that mostly I wrote as a release and a journal of sorts. Because of negative feedback I received from a family member I had so edited what I wrote that it no longer was fun nor really reflected my thoughts. This person never read my blog but had heard from another family member something I wrote and it caused some difficulty because of misinterpretation. I’m having to practice what I’ve “preached” to others – as long as we aren’t trying to hurt someone, we aren’t responsible for how they react to something we’ve said or done. Good intentions are often misinterpreted.

But that’s the risk of writing and exposing one’s feelings – how others take it. It’s a reason I never entered politics – although I do stand on that old proverbial soapbox a lot. But I never wanted to embarrass my family by things I said. I was especially sensitive to Ken and his feelings. He would never have complained but, well, you know. The boys have long since reached the age where they were past the point where the mere breathing of their parents, in their presence, would cause profound embarrassment.

It’s been four years since Ken’s death and this is the fifth holiday season without him. Lots has changed. House challenges. Health challenges. Family challenges. All of them opportunities to learn and move forward. We all face them.

I’m getting ready to head out for day two of leaf removal. I resurrected the leaf vac/mulcher – only to find that a critter had eaten a hole in the collection bag. So, I purchased a device from the company that has a cloth that fits snugly – ha – over a trash can and has an 8 foot hose that comes out of the top and then attaches to the mulcher. Yesterday I decided to get started. Adam had moved a trash can and the new purchase to the back yard for me. I got it all hooked up and got started. I thought I should check on the progress and turned around to find the cloth had come lose and everything I was mulching was just blowing out the top of the trash can.

Cracked me up.

Got restarted – and then tripped the GFI – an old problem I’d forgotten about. Reconnected to another outlet and did about 10 square feet before calling it a day. I’ve reached the age where stamina is a bit of an issue and then not wanting to overuse the old “bad” shoulders and back.

So, as we enter into this holiday time we call a season – I’m going to write more often.

One more thing – I went to the Feed Store on Friday to get some dog food. They have a coupon program that requires I give my name so they can give me credit. When I told the young girl my name she looked up and said “Linda Kline” – was Ken Kline your husband. I said yes. She went on to tell me how wonderful a teacher Ken was – she’d had him in Auto Shop at Aloha High School. She said he was everyone’s favorite teacher. She said that one day Adam had come in driving the Gold Suburban and that it startled her because she expected “Mr. Kline” to walk in the door.

I still love hearing those stories. He touched so many kids lives.

The stories renew my tears but warm my heart.

This entry was posted in It's Called Lindaville, After All...... Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to

  1. nonniesim7 says:

    I am SO GLAD you’re writing again. I’ve missed it so much but didn’t want to rock the boat if there was any problem about it!
    We MUST have coffee. So much to share. But all is bathed in the goodness and love and peace of our precious Lord. Even the hard stuff. These next two weeks are a whirlwind for me but if you can spare an hour the week after thanksgiving I’d SO love to see you and visit. And see grandbaby boy photos.
    I love you my dear Linda, gift from God!
    Char

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a comment