Being Number One – Part two

Seems like more and more times goes by between my journaling. I must say I do miss doing it every day. It’s been a great way to kind of check in with God and see where I am in terms of where He wants me to be. I still check in with Him – talk to Him all the time – but there’s something about writing that puts things in order.

I’ve been enjoying the early Spring – and now the blustery weather we should’ve had a few weeks ago. Everything is backwards. But, no matter – I’d be inside because of Carl and the painting. Adam is building the new kitchen cabinets. He builds and I paint. I’ve discovered that Ken was right – I’m not a great painter. But I keep at it and it’s getting better. Fortunately most of the painting is inside the cabinets and shelves. He is doing such a great job.

Carl is keeping me very busy – mentally and physically. He is a really good dog but he has all of the adjustments that puppies go through as they learn to live with humans. We are a weird bunch and so socializing a puppy to the weirdness of humans takes time so that they don’t freak when someone squeals or rushes at them.

But it is also fun to see the world through the eyes of a puppy – their first discoveries. Last week he discovered his first fly. Very intriguing. Yesterday he discovered that if he pulls on a piece of paper on the paint can the label comes off and that is lots of fun. Not so much for me as I dig the soggy bits out of his mouth. But he cooperates. Thank You, God.

We are working on separation anxiety. I didn’t realize how just having the activity of another person (Ken) in the house helped with this issue. Carl is especially attached. Apparently his father has the same love for his owner so he comes by it naturally. My trainer, Mary, has his sister from another litter and she is always watching and checking in with Mary. The good news with this is that we want our dogs to check in with us a lot – that’s a good thing. But when we are out of their sight, pooping in their crate is not a good reaction. Mary is helping me (well, Carl) with this.

So, I’ve discovered I am the most important person in someone’s life. Carl. And, while he may not like to admit it – I am also the most important person in Jack’s life as well. Cats aren’t as willing to admit their feelings but he is a very loving big guy. And not just when he wants me to open the door so he can go get his food in the garage

It’s not the same as with Ken – duh. But it’s nice and pets do know how to be of comfort and also make us laugh.

I am grateful.

This entry was posted in Ken. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment