Even good days…..

Today was a pretty good day. Not sure what I accomplished but I did have a nice afternoon with Pat. We went to Gracie’s for dinner. It’s in the old Mallory Hotel – now the deLuxe Hotel. One of our favorites.

I heard, again, from one of the scouts today. He emailed some great photos and shared some memories he had from time with Ken. Another former scout emailed that he saw a suburban that looked like our blue 77 and it made him think of Ken and all the fun times spent driving to camps and events in that old car.  Also heard again from one of Ken’s former students and he shared how much Ken meant to him.

I hope these young men know how much it means and will keep doing this when they think of something. It’s like having a little visit with Ken – something I’m just learning about that he did or said.

I just miss Ken so very much and still don’t believe he’s dead. I still catch myself in a state of expecting him to walk through the door. I still have to remind myself. I know this will go on for a long time – actually, I hope it never stops because it means I still remember him. I guess it’s even good that it hurts so much.

I guess.

This entry was posted in Ken. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Even good days…..

  1. Jeri Riggs says:

    It’s almost impossible for me not to think of Ken every day. He fixed my patio gate door so my dog Georgie would be safe; he replaced wood panels on my deck; he repaired my patio screen door; he replaced light bulbs that I couldn’t easily get to; he replaced the light fixture in my garage; the list goes on. And I still have not adjusted to Saturdays here without Ken. We could count on seeing him by the Clubhouse, taking care of the pool and so many other items that needed attending to. And he often would take a moment to tell me about a wonderful family BBQ that weekend. Like you said; this will go on for a long time.

Leave a comment